November 23, 2017

Alexander Yatsenko Is Recipient of Jury Grand Prize at Asia Pacific Screen Awards for His Role in “Arrhythmia”

At the closing ceremony for the 11th Asia Pacific Screen Awards, Russian actor Alexander Yatsenko was awarded the Grand Prix for his role in Boris Khlebnikov’s “Arrhythmia”. The award ceremony took place on November 28 in Brisbane, Australia.

The host of the ceremony, TV journalist Lee Lin Chin noted that this “major and very prestigious award by the jury goes for a unique talent and contribution to cinema.” The award was presented by Program Director of the Tokyo International Film Festival, Yoshi Yatabe.

Best Feature Film was awarded to Warwick Thornton’s “Sweet Country” (Australia).

This year, several Russian films were nominated: “Loveless” by Andrey Zvyagintsev, “Arrhythmia” by Boris Khlebnikov, and “The Bottomless Bag” by Rustam Khamdamov. They were nominated in the Achievement in Directing, Best Screenplay, and Achievement in Cinematography categories.

The Achievement in Directing award went to the Russian director Andrey Zvyagintsev and his “Loveless”. The Achievement in Cinematography award went to Petr Duchovsky and Timofey Lobov for “The Bottomless Bag”.

The international jury of APSA was headed by the famous Australian film editor Full Bilcock, ACE ASE. Other members of the jury included Filipino writer and director Adolfo Alix, Jr., Chinese actress He Saifei, program director of the Tokyo Film Festival Yoshi Yatabe, and Kazakh writer, director, and cinematographer Adilkhan Erzhanov.

Asia Pacific Screen Awards, colloquially known as the Asian Oscars, was created at the initiative of the Australian government with support from UNESCO and the International Association of Film Producers. The first award ceremony took place in Hong Kong in 2007.

The key goals of the initiative are the opening of a dialogue, establishing collaborative efforts, and providing aid in business opportunities for filmmakers in the Asian Pacific region, which encompasses countries that are home to three-quarters of the world’s population. APASA is a platform for cultural and business interaction between seventy countries and areas of the region, and for maintaining the world’s interest in it.

This year, 41 films from 25 countries of the Asian Pacific region won various APSAs.

Boris Khlebnicov’s drama “Arrhythmia” that tells the story of a talented paramedic was released to theatres in Russia on October 12, 2017. The film grossed 83,204,080 rubles.

“Arrhythmia” also won the following awards at Russian and international film festivals: Best Male Actor (Alexander Yatsenko) at the 52nd Karlovy Vary International Film Festival; Grand Prix, Best Male Actor (Alexander Yatsenko), and Peolpe’s Choice at the 28th Kinotavr Open Russian Film Festival; Best Male Actor (Alexander Yatsenko) at the 53rd Chicago International Film Festival; Grand Prix and People’s Choice Award at the 11th Sputnik nad Polshey Russian Film Festival; award form the Executive Committee of the CIS at the 24th Listapad Minsk International Film Festival; French Film Critics Award, Special Mention of the Judges for the Best Male Actor (Alexander Yatsenko) at the 18th Arras Film Festival.

Earlier winners of APSA from Russia are “Under Electric Clouds” (2015) by Alexey German, Jr., “Leviathan” (Best Film, 2014), “Ku! Kin-Dza-Dza” (Best Animated Film, 2013), “Tulip” (Best Film, 2008). Nadezhda Markina received the Best Actress award in 2011 for “Elena”, and Denis Osokin won Best Screenplay for “Yellowhammers”.